A letter to my husband.

Dear husband,

This year will mark 12 years. But we only lived together for 11.

That first year you were a single full time father. You brought kids into this relationship and I provided new ones as the years went past.

But now our youngest is at school and your not at work today.

No, I don’t want to cuddle in bed all day watching movies.

No I don’t want to ask what do you want to do today and you reply an hour before school pick up.

I seem to forget sometimes you were a single parent for a while. Nearly four years before I came along.

So when you have the day off, I don’t want you to fold half a basket of clothes to look busy, then leave the folded clothes on the floor and couch.

I want you to make them breakfast. It takes me 20 minutes to drink my coffee and wake up and function from my horrible lack of sleep. That’s why I am out of bed at 6am.

While I am in the shower shaving my legs because its too hot for long pants, please feel free to help zip up zippers and tie shoes.

While I make their sandwiches and fill their lunch boxes, please help me by doing the dishes.

While I brush and do our daughters hair up nice and tight and braided and off their shoulders to help prevent catching headlice, there are three Barbie’s, a dressing gown, 4 cushions and a blanket plus those folded clothes that need to be picked up and wool everywhere because I had to teach our son how to knit before this afternoon.

But you seem to be out of routine, you seem to have forgotten how hectic a school morning is. Please don’t lay on the bed playing poker on your phone telling the children to clean their rooms when one is screaming with no socks and shoes on and her hair half undone from it getting caught in her dress zipper. Another sulking on the couch trying to tighten the Velcro on her shoes and the third well, he jumps out of bed and he is ready for school.

Now husband, I know you hurt yourself and the pain will subside. Only one more hour than you can see the doctor about it, but please don’t lay in bed barking orders when I’ve been doing this for 10 years with a pain threshold slowly moving up to a permenant 7 out of 10.

Now I have to find my other shoe before I have to leave for work and take the kids to school, so please just remember, its not hard to help. So please walk in my shoes on the days I can’t do housework and had the opportunity. On the days where we just have to do it, despite the pain.

Author: Having a Say

school mum, stands up for my beliefs, proud australian

Leave a Reply

